Atlanta Gay Chamber announces Community Award finalists

Voting is now open for the 2017 Atlanta Gay and Lesbian Chamber of Commerce’s 2017 Community Awards.

The winners in each of the seven categories — Businessman of the Year, Business Woman of the Year, Guardian Angel, Rising Star, Corporate Ally, Member of the Year and Small Business of the Year — will be announced at an awards ceremony in late September.

“The AGLCC has been hosting the community awards since 2005, and the mission is to first celebrate the LGBT business community in Atlanta, and then honor the best and the brightest based on the awards given,” said Jennifer Lutz, general manager for AGLCC. “All of our nominees have done fantastic work.”

Georgia Voice is among the nominees in the small business category. Also nominated for Small Business of the Year are DiOGi Pet Services, Transformation Journeys Worldwide, Creative Approach and 18:21 Bitters.

In the businessman category, Carlton Brown of Occasional Occasions by Carlton, Bill Kaelin of Bill Kaelin Marketing, Dillard Jones of The Concierge Guy and William Duffee-Braun of Peach ATL Media are up. Businesswomen finalists are Gabrielle Claiborne of Transformation Journeys Worldwide, Emma Foulkes of Greenwood Wealth Management, Jan Stepp of Pizazzz Promotions, Inc., JoAnn Pfeiffer of Eastern Data Systems and Jan Levie of Handy Entertainment.

The Guardian Angel Award finalists include Georgia Equality, Pride School Atlanta, AID Atlanta, Living Room and Out Front Theatre Company. Courtney DeDi of DiOGi Pet Services, Kat Dyer-Wall of Gayborhood, Colton Griffin of WMSight, Richard Pope of Creative Approach and Jamieson Cox of First Data are up for the Rising Star Award.

In the corporate ally category, AGLCC members can pick from Cox Enterprises, Georgia Power, Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta, BB&T and Lab Monkey Communications.

Rounding out the nominees for Member of the Year are Anne Clarke of The Clarke Agency, Chip Ivie of Keller Williams Realty, Luis Ruiz of MassMutual Financial Group Perimeter, Bryon Brown of PPi and Luis Quinones of Four Seasons Hotel.

Voting for your top picks will take place online through Aug. 24.

To vote, visit