Georgia Equality’s annual Evening for Equality Awards cap off Atlanta’s Stonewall Month. Scheduled this year for June 29 at Twelve Hotel in Atlantic Station, the event will honor members of the local community with three distinct awards.

The Philip Rush Community Builder Award goes to the Lloyd Russell Foundation, whose executive director is Pamm Burdett. “The foundation provides needed resources to struggling community organizations,” said Jeff Graham, Georgia Equality’s executive director.

“Without their support, there would not be a Phillip Rush Center,” Graham said. “In addition, they have provided a safe base and acknowledgement for people who can be marginalized, such as the transgender and leather community.”

Evening for Equality honors leaders


Evening for Equality
June 29, 7 p.m.
Twelve Hotel at Atlantic Station 

The Champion for Equality Award will be presented to Dazon Dixon Diallo, the founder and executive director of SisterLove, which has provided services to women since 1989, including providing help to women with HIV/AIDS.

The other award recipient will be Anthony Michael Kreis, who will receive the Allen Thornell Political Achievement Award. Kreis is a doctoral student at the University of Georgia specializing in sexual orientation, public policy, social change and the law, and is a volunteer lobbyist for Georgia Equality.

The annual gala also serves as a reminder of all that Georgia Equality is involved in.

“It recognizes the work being done and also raises funds to do work statewide,” Graham said.