“Celebrate GLAAD at 25”
VIP reception 6:30-7:30 p.m.
Main event 7:30 – 11 p.m.
Mason Murer Fine Art
199 Armour Drive
Atlanta, GA 30324

Local award winners were chosen “as a group effort, looking back 25 years at our community” by GLAAD’s Atlanta Leadership Council, according to Dino Thompson-Sarmiento, senior advisor for the Atlanta GLAAD leadership council.

“We also wanted to be all inclusive — we tried to pull from the very diverse and wonderful population we have in Atlanta,” he said.

The honorees are Sally Ringo, Don Lemon, Allen Jones, Ben Hadsock, Bubba Dee, Charlie Brown, Chris Coleman, Darian Aaron, David Stark, Don George, Duncan Teague, Jeff Cleghorn, Jeff Graham, Jodi Duncan, Justin Ziegler, Linda Ellis, Lynn Barfield, Marcus Jackson, Mariela Romero, Matt Hennie, Mitchel Anderson & Richie Arpino, Pat Hussain, Paul Horning, Paul Plate, Phillip Rafshoon, Rodney White, Steven Scarborough, and Tyler Calkins and William Duffee-Braun.

Even with the entertainment lineup for the gala, Thompson-Sarmiento said he is most excited about honoring the local winners.

“My joy is recognizing the many folks who have worked so hard over the years to help all of us as a community lead better lives,” he said. “They have changed hearts and minds and in some cases saved lives.”

Anyone who would like to volunteer or be considered for the Atlanta Leadership Council can call 404-428-0497, he said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.