Georgia Equality Announces Endorsements for 2020 General Election

The Board of Directors of Georgia Equality, the state’s largest political advocacy organization for LGBTQ Georgians and our allies, has announced its endorsements in the upcoming 2020 General Election.

The Georgia Equality Board of Directors issue an endorsement for a candidate who they feel is best placed to advance an LGBTQ policy agenda.  The lack of an endorsement should not necessarily be viewed as a negative reflection of a particular candidate’s views on LGBTQ issues in general.

“As we draw near to the general election, it is more important than ever that we support candidates and incumbents that will bring expertise, clarity, and fairness to our State Capitol. Each candidate we have endorsed believes in equality and safety for all LGBTQ Georgians, and if elected will work diligently to ensure that these beliefs are reflected in our state law,” said Jeff Graham, executive director of Georgia Equality.

The endorsements are as follows:

* indicates an openly LGBTQ incumbent or candidate 

State Senate:

Senate District 6: Jen Jordan (i)

Senate District 17: Brian Strickland (i)

Senate District 40: Sally Harrell (i)

Senate District 41: Kim Jackson*

Senate District 48: Michelle Au

Senate District 56: Sarah Beeson

State House of Representatives:

House District 20: Ginny Lennox

House District 34: Priscilla Smith

House District 35: Kyle Rinaudo

House District 36: James Ryner

House District 37: Mary Frances Williams (i)

House District 39: Erica Thomas (i)

House District 40: Erick Allen (i)

House District 44: Connie Di Cicco

House District 45: Sara Ghazal

House District 48: Mary Robichaux (i)

House District 50: Angelika Kauche (i)

House District 51: Josh McLaurin (i)

House District 54: Betsy Holland (i)

House District 79: Mike Wilensky (i)

House District 80: Matthew Wilson* (i)

House District 95: Beth Moore (i)

House District 101: Sam Park* (i)

House District 102: Gregg Kennard (i)

House District 105: Donna McLeod (i)

House District 107: Sally Hutchinson (i)

House District 109: Regina Lewis-Ward

House District 132: Robert Trammell (i)

House District 138: Marc Arnett

House District 179: Julie Jordan*

Absentee ballots have already begun sending out; you can request one here. The deadline for voter registration is October 5, early in-person voting begins October 12, state-wide Saturday voting is October 24, and election day is November 3. To register to vote, double check your voter registration, and view absentee voting information, visit the Secretary of State’s My Voter Page. 

The Board of Georgia Equality plans to issue additional endorsements in municipal races and the Special Election for Senate District 39 in the near future. Learn more about Georgia Equality’s endorsed candidates here.