Georgia Equality, which has been lobbying legislators to pass the bill, is asking people to call members of the committee to urge them to support the bill.

From Georgia Equality:

This legislation would extend workplace protections to state employees on the basis of sexual orientation and gender identity. Similar protections are currently offered by twenty-four states and the District of Columbia.
 
 Here in Georgia, there has been remarkable support for these basic workplace protections.  Currently there are at least 36 municipalities with similar policies and nearly 200 of Georgia’s largest private employers also extend these protections to their gay and transgender employees.
 
Recent polling indicates that 79% of voters statewide support the passage of this legislation, including 90% of voters under the age of 39.

The bill, first introduced in 2011, would add “sexual orientation” to protected statuses for public employment in Georgia. It defines “sexual orientation” as “a person’s actual or perceived heterosexuality, bisexuality, homosexuality, or gender related identity or expression.”

“Treating LGBT employees fairly is simply better for business,” Drenner said when she reintroduced the bill in February.

“The Georgia Fair Employment Practices Act would also ensure that Georgia State colleges and universities are competitive with major research institutions in attracting and retaining the best and brightest researchers, students and administrators to study, work and develop new products, industries and jobs in Georgia,” Drenner said.

In 2012, the bill got a hearing before the House Judiciary subcommittee but was tabled.

Contacts for members of House Industry and Labor Committee

Rep. Dee Dawkins-Haigler
404-656-0287
dee.dawkins-haigler@house.ga.gov

Rep. Pedro Marin
770-422-0408
marinstatehouse@aol.com

Rep. Terry England
404-463-2247
englandhomeport2@windstream.net

Rep. Bruce Broadrick
404-656-0202
bruce.broadrick@house.ga.gov

Rep. Hugh Floyd
404-656-0314
hughfloyd@mindspring.com

Rep. John Meadows
404-656-5141
john.meadows@house.ga.gov

Rep. Jimmy Pruett
404-656-3947
jimmy.pruett@house.ga.gov

Rep. Chad Nimmer (Chairman)
404-651-7737
chad.nimmer@house.ga.gov

Rep. Tom Kirby
404-656-0177
tom.kirby@house.ga.gov

Rep. Bob Bryant
404-656-0298
bob.bryant@house.ga.gov

Rep. Barry Fleming
404-656-0152
barry.fleming@house.ga.gov

Rep. Edward Lindsey
404-656-5024
edward.lindsey@house.ga.gov

Photo: State Rep. Karla Drenner (file photo)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.