Kyrsten Sinema Only LGBTQ Legislator to Not Back Trump Impeachment Inquiry

Arizona Senator Kyrsten Sinema is the only LGBTQ Congress member to not back an impeachment inquiry into President Donald Trump, reports Out Magazine.

Following reports that Trump attempted to convince Ukraine President Volodymyr Zelensky into finding information about former Vice President Joe Biden’s son, House Speaker Nancy Pelosi called for a formal investigation into removing him from office.

Currently, 215 of the 235 House Democrats, as well as over a dozen senators, have backed the inquiry. This includes nine of the ten LGBTQ members of Congress: Rep. David Cicilline (D-RI), Rep. Angie Craig (D-MN), Rep. Sharice Davids (D-KS), Rep. Katie Hill (D-CA), Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney (D-NY), Rep. Chris Pappas (D-NH), Rep. Mark Pocan (D-WI), Rep. Mark Takano (D-CA), and Sen. Tammy Baldwin (D-WI).

Several of the LGBTQ legislators took to Twitter to discuss their decision to back the inquiry.

However, notably missing from the list is Sinema. When questioned about whether she supported the impeachment by the Arizona Republic, she “did not explicitly say whether she supports or opposes the inquiry.”

Sinema told the paper that she believes “Congress must be given complete access to the whistleblower’s report and transcript as required by law.”

The only bisexual senator has often been described as a “moderate Democrat,” as she was found to agree with Trump’s policies 54 percent of the time by FiveThirtyEight.