By the numbers: Argentina gay marriage


Countries in South America that allow gay marriage: Argentina became the first on July 15, 2010.


Hours of debate in the Argentine Senate over whether to approve the same-sex marriage law backed by President Cristina Fernandez.


Estimated attendance at a march against gay marriage organized by the Catholic Church and other religious groups the night before the vote.


Countries in the world that now recognize gay marriage: Netherlands, Belgium, Spain, Canada, South Africa, Norway, Sweden, Portugal, Iceland and Argentina.


Source: Time, BBC