Georgia Equality Releases 2020 Municipal Endorsements

After announcing their 2020 general Senate and House endorsements, the Board of Directors of Georgia Equality, the state’s largest political advocacy organization for LGBTQ Georgians and our allies, has announced its endorsements in upcoming municipal General Election races. 


“What we know from our work to protect people from discrimination and to decriminalize HIV is that local elections matter,” said Jeff Graham, executive director of Georgia Equality. “This year, it is more important than ever that we support local candidates and incumbents that believe in equality and safety for all LGBTQ Georgians.” 


The municipal endorsements are as follows:


Athens-Clarke County District Attorney: Deborah Gonzalez

Athens-Clarke County Sherriff: John Q. Williams


Cobb County Commission Chair: Lisa Cupid

Cobb County Commission, District 4: Jerica Richardson

Cobb County District Attorney: Flynn D. Broady Jr.

Cobb County Sherriff: Craig Owens


Chatham County Commission Chair: Jason Buelterman

Chatham County District Attorney: Meg Daly Heap


DeKalb County Commission, District 1: Robert Patrick


Fulton County Commission, District 2: Justin Holsomback*

Fulton County Commission, District 4: Natalie Hall


Gwinnett County Commission Chair: Nicole Love

Gwinnett County Sherriff: Keybo Taylor



Special Elections:

State Senate District 39: Sonya Halpern


Mayor of Clarkston: YT Bell


The Georgia Equality Board of Directors issue endorsements for candidates who they feel is best placed to advance their policy agenda. The lack of an endorsement should not necessarily be viewed as a negative reflection of a particular candidate’s views on LGBTQ issues in general. Learn more about Georgia Equality’s full list of endorsed candidates here.


Key Election Dates:

Absentee Ballots began sending on: September 15, 2020 (request an absentee ballot here

Advance In-Person (Early) Voting begins: October 12

State-wide Saturday voting: October 24

Election Day: November 3

All Georgians should visit the Secretary of State’s My Voter Page to register to vote, double check that your voter registration is correct, and view absentee voting information.