COMEDIAN
BRENT STAR

Funnyman Brent Star (brentstar.com) just barely eked out a win in one of the closest votes of this year’s awards—just 20 votes separated first and second! Star can be found at events throughout the year, whether it’s hosting the Fun Bingo Show at Cowtippers, doing stand-up at The Laughing Skull and more.

In second is Brian Moote (www.q100atlanta.com/brian-moote/), while Candace Weslosky (https://www.facebook.com/candace.weslosky) nabs third.

ACTOR
HUGO DONIS

Newcomer Hugo Donis (www.facebook.com/thehugodonis/) takes the prize for best actor this year. The actor and filmmaker is currently casting for a local horror web series called “Don’t Give In” so keep an eye out for that project coming soon!

David Moretti (www.facebook.com/David-Moretti-74323814048/) finishes second and DeWayne Morgan (www.facebook.com/dewayne.morgan) third.

DJ
LIZ OWEN

The reader’s choice for best DJ for the second year in a row is Liz Owen. Owen throws down beats at various locations around town but is perhaps best known for spinning at My Sister’s Room. You can also spot her at the Sexacola parties in Pensacola during Memorial Day Weekend.

Rachel Ryan (http://www.q100atlanta.com/rachel-ryan/) and Vicki Powell (www.facebook.com/djvickipowell) are your second and third choices, respectively.

DRAG KING
JORDAN MICHAELS MCCORD

Atlanta’s Jordan Michaels McCord (www.facebook.com/Jordan-Michaels-McCord-590711617721675/) wins again! The entertainer is a popular figure who hosts and performs at My Sister’s Room, and McCord dabbles in acting and modeling as well.

Owen McCord (www.facebook.com/owen.mccord.77) is your second favorite, and Hayden Fury (www.facebook.com/HaydenFury138) third.

DRAG QUEEN
EVAH DESTRUCTION

Evah Destruction (www.facebook.com/EvahDestruction) is the drag queen you adore the most—for the second year in a row. She can be seen on Fridays at Jungle’s “The Other Show” and frequently at Burkhart’s and Lips Atlanta as well.

Evah defeated fierce competition from the likes of Bubba D. Licious (www.facebook.com/BubbaDLicious), who took second, and Edie Cheezburger (www.facebook.com/theediecheezburgerpage) who took third.

LOCAL RADIO STATION
Q100

Q100 (www.q100atlanta.com) wins it again. There have been some shakeups in the DJ lineup in the last year but readers hung in there with the station that plays a mix of today’s top pop artists in rotation throughout the day. Q100 has long supported the LGBT community and is a regular presence at Pride.

WABE (www.wabe.org) comes in second and B98.5 (www.b985.com) third.

MUSICIAN
J. TYLER

It’s a threepeat! Young Atlanta rapper J. Tyler (jtylermusic.com) bested some fierce competition from our three other finalists to be named best musician again this year. And keep an eye out for J. Tyler’s new single “Live Out Loud” coming out August 1.

In second is the Atlanta Gay Men’s Chorus (www.voicesofnote.org/agmc), followed by Freiberd (www.freiberd.com/) and Nadia Vaeh (www.nadiavaeh.com).

WRITER/PLAYWRIGHT
TOPHER PAYNE

The best writer/playwright category was loaded this year with five finalists facing off for the prize, but no one could outlast perennial favorite Topher Payne (www.topherpayne.com). Keep an eye out “My Summer Prince,” a Hallmark Channel original film written by Payne premiering August 6.

Darrell Grant finishes second, followed by Jericho Brown, Charles Stephens and Michael Wynn.

PERFORMANCE ARTIST/VISUAL ARTIST
BATON BOB

Atlanta’s “Ambassador of Mirth” wins in this category populated by a number of people in various art forms. You never know where you’ll run into the always-stylish Baton Bob but keep your ears peeled for that telltale whistle to get a hint.

Coming in second is Alli Royce Soble, third goes to Corian Ellisar, fourth to Darionce Jackson and fifth is Antron Reshaud.

THEATER
THE FOX THEATRE

Readers opted for a night under the stars at The Fox Theatre (foxtheatre.org). The Fabulous Fox hosts a variety of concerts, movies, musicals and more throughout the year to keep LGBT fans happy. Upcoming events include a screening of “Some Like It Hot” and performances from Bonnie Raitt and Alan Cumming.

Actor’s Express (www.actors-express.com) came in second while the Alliance Theatre (alliancetheatre.org) placed third.

ATTRACTION
ATLANTA BOTANICAL GARDEN

Best attraction was a brand new category for this year’s Best of Atlanta, and the Atlanta Botanical Garden (atlantabg.org) got the win. Whether it’s the current Chihuly in the Garden exhibition or the annual Garden Nights, Holiday Lights, they keep the city’s A&E fans coming throughout the year.

The Georgia Aquarium (www.georgiaaquarium.com) placed second and the Atlanta History Center (www.atlantahistorycenter.com) rounded out the category in third.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.