Several gay Atlantans have been named to a working panel to try to find ways to reduce prostitution in the city following backlash over a proposed ordinance to "banish" prostitutes.

Some on the list will not come as surprises to those who followed the controversy, including Peggy Denby, president of the Midtown-Ponce Security Alliance — the only person who spoke out in favor of banishing prostitutes at public hearings. Denby has said she has a particular problem with "men" prostitutes. These include cross dressers and transgender people.

Gay leaders are part of the mix, too, including Jeff Graham, executive director of Georgia Equality.

Controversial YouthPride ED named to city of Atlanta’s working group to reduce prostitution

The group also includes controversial YouthPride Executive Director Terence McPhaul, whose questionable leadership practices have fueled community concerns about the stability of the organization founded to serve LGBT young people.

There is no representative from the transgender community on the working group, although several transgender woman spoke out against the banishment legislation.

McPhaul refuses to talk to GA Voice. An interview in December with the chairperson of the two-person board, Theresa Willis, led to no significant answers about YouthPride is doing. Willis promised a follow up interview after the holidays in February. Attempts to get that promised interview have failed.

We’ve asked city officials how McPhaul was selected for the board and are awaiting a response. According to a city of Atlanta press release, the members of the Working Group were appointed by the City’s Chief Operating Officer, Duriya Farooqui, and Councilmember Michael Julian Bond, chairman of the Atlanta City Council’s Public Safety and Legal Administration Committee.

Check back for more details as they become available.

The full list of the working board:

Kristin Wilson, Innovation Delivery Team, City of Atlanta

Candace Byrd, Chief of Staff, City of Atlanta

Melissa Mullinax, Public Affairs/Office of Chief Operating Officer, City of Atlanta

Amber Robinson, Law Department, City of Atlanta

Lt. Scott Kreher, Atlanta Police Department, City of Atlanta

Alice Johnson, Atlanta Police Department, City of Atlanta

Raines Carter, City Solicitor, City of Atlanta

Rosalie Joy, Public Defender, City of Atlanta

Stephanie Davis, Executive Director, GA Women for a Change

Peggy Denby, President, Midtown-Ponce Security Alliance

Xochitl Bervera, Director, Racial Justice Action Center

Jeff Graham, Director, Georgia Equality

Terence McPhaul, Director, YouthPride

Douglas Dean,  Resident, Pittsburgh Community

Bill Cannon,  Resident, Booker T. Washington Community

Donna Hubbard, Pastor, Women at the Well Transition Center