Georgia Equality, the state’s largest LGBT advocacy organization, tried to put a positive spin on what is mostly a depressing post-Election Day for gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender voters in the state.

With Nathan Deal, who ran the most anti-gay primary campaign known in the state’s history, headed to the governor’s mansion, there’s not much to be happy about.

But Georgia Equality wants to stress there was some good news and good fair-minded candidates that they endorsed who either were elected or re-elected to their seats.

Most of Georgia Equality’s endorsed candidates fare well on Election Day

In a press release, Georgia Equality says of its 17 endorsed candidates, 10 won, five lost and two are in a runoff.

Those touted by Georgia Equality for their victories:

Democrat Stacy Evans — House District 40 (Marietta)
Democrat Dar’shun Kendrick — House District 94 (Conyers)
Republican Mike Jacobs — House District 80 (Chamblee)
Democrat Stephanie Stuckey Benfield — House District 85 (Decatur)
Democrat Curt Thompson — Senate District 5 (Gwinnett)
Democrat Steve Henson — Senate District 41 (DeKalb)
Joan Garner — Fulton County Commission District 6 (ran unopposed)
John Eaves — Fulton County Commission Chairman
David Barrett — Superior Court Judge – Enotah Circuit
Robert James — District Attorney – Stone Mountain Circuit

Also winning in an unopposed race were lesbians Democrats State Rep. Simone Bell of District 58 and state Rep. Karla Drenner of Avondale Estates.

Joan Garner is also the first openly gay or lesbian candidate to be elected to a county commission post in Georgia, according to Georgia Equality.

Candidates supported by Georgia Equality that are now headed to the Nov. 30 runoff are:

Chris McFadden – State Court of Appeals
Jared Bailey – Athens-Clarke County Commission

Those endorsed by Georgia Equality but lost are:

Maryline Blackburn for House District 34
Steffini Bethea for House District 106
Mike Wilson for the state Supreme Court
Chloe Dallaire for Superior Court for Atlanta District
Denise Warner for Superior Court for the Stone Mountain Circuit

Visit for more information.