AOC and Others to Guest Judge ‘RuPaul’s Drag Race’ Season 12

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, Nicki Minaj, and Normani, among others, have been announced to be guest judges in the upcoming twelfth season of RuPaul’s Drag Race.

Ocasio-Cortez, a member of the House of Representatives for New York, is known to be a die-hard fan of Drag Race, even quoting former contestant Monique Hart on social media.

Upon the reveal that she would be a guest judge, Ocasio-Cortez received a sea of criticism and vitriol from conservatives on social media, some even insinuating her appearance was incompatible with her well-known belief in the Green New Deal.

She clapped back at the hate with a quote from season four’s Phi Phi O’hara, saying, “They can go back to party city.”

Ocasio-Cortez joins other Drag Race superfan Leslie Jones on the roster of judges, along with Nicki Minaj, Whoopi Goldberg, Chaka Khan, Robyn, Normani, Jeff Goldblum, Daisy Ridley, Thandie Newton, Olivia Munn, Rachel Bloom, Daniel Franzese, Jonathan Bennett, and Winnie Harlow.

RuPaul’s Drag Race season 12 premieres February 28 at 8pm on VH1.